nCourage Proud to Judge The Rice Business Plan Competition for Fourth Year

Posted by on Apr 4, 2013

solanux ncourage prize

The Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship will award a new $20,000 Award for Courageous Women Entrepreneurs at the 2013 Rice University Business Plan Competition.

To be eligible for the $20,000 Women’s Entrepreneur cash prize, graduate-level business plan teams must have in addition to standard qualifications: A woman as CEO or in a top leadership role, OR at least 25% women-ownership; all teams must have at least one female on the presenting team.

The prize is sponsored by nCourage Entrepreneurs Investment Group consisting of: Cindy Boyd, President of Sentigy; Elizabeth Wiggins, Director, various community boards, Lamar Mathews, President of GP of Falcon Partners, Ltd. and Shelby Scarbrough, President, Practical Protocol. These four courageous entrepreneurs formed “nCourage Entrepreneurs” to invest in people, passion and their plan to execute.  Other partners include Winnie Hart of TwinEngine, Sue Hrib of Signum Group, Suzy Ginsburg of Global Communications, and Dr. Lynn Kirkpatrick of Ensysce Bio Sciences.  United by their passion to encourage the next generation of women entrepreneurs, and recognize the courage necessary to pursue an entrepreneurial journey, the nCourage team applauds the efforts of this year’s contestants.

The Rice University Business Plan Competition is the world’s richest and largest graduate-level business plan competition. It is hosted and organized by the Rice Alliance for Technology and Entrepreneurship, which is Rice University’s flagship initiative devoted to the support of entrepreneurship, and the Jesse H. Jones Graduate School of Business. This is the 13th year for the competition. In that time, it has grown from nine teams competing for $10,000 in prize money in 2001, to 42 teams from around the world competing for more than $1.3 million in cash and prizes. For more information -